Will I still be connected to wifi if I reset my router. or will I have to connect again with the default password?

Home » Computer Networking » Will I still be connected to wifi if I reset my router. or will I have to connect again with the default password?
Computer Networking No Comments

Best Answer:

Tracy L: A "Reset" will indeed make your router operate the way it did when you purchased it and you will use the Default passwords to do the setup!

A "Reboot" will just restart the router and clear the CPU of any errors in the existing setup. Your current settings all stay in place. There are lots of people who do a reset when a reboot would work just fine for the problem.. To reboot, unplug the router for 30-60 seconds then reconnect the power. It will reboot and start up and that may clear your issue.

Other answer:

Tracy L:
The latter. It's possible there will be no password on it after you reset i.e., it's wide open to anyone. Put a password on it after you reset, also change the admin credentials use to logon on the router config portal.
Taco Dance:
If you do a factory reset on your router you will have to reconnect using the default network name(SSID) and password.
Naruto:
Resetting as in unplugging it and plugging it back in will not change the password.

LEAVE A COMMENT