Do my default WIFI password or SSID change when I reset my modem from the small button?

Home » Computer Networking » Do my default WIFI password or SSID change when I reset my modem from the small button?
Computer Networking No Comments

Other answer:

Jarkko:
The default WiFi network name (SSID) and pass phrase will remain the same as a result of resetting the router. Resetting the router will return the settings to the factory defaults, but if the defaults are already in place then the reset will NOT change them.

Only if the SSID or pass phrase have been changed then a reset will return these parameters and others back to the default factory settings.

I hope this helps.

Joe:
Most routers, a "press-and-release" reset WILL NOT reset your SSID or passwords / keys.

Hold the button down for a while (usually over 10 seconds) to force a "factory reset", which will reset SSID, admin password, and WEP / WPA keys to the default. You'll have to re-install the router, using an Ethernet cable and the install disk (or the admin interface, manually).

If you know the admin password, you can connect with an Ethernet cable and reset your Wi-Fi WEP / WPA keys without having to do a full factory reset and re-install. That's easier.

Josh:
Default means default, so if you reset the modem to default the SSID and password will revert to the default.
ScσττRΛSC³:
Yes. That is a reset so the password would be gone as well as the SSID.
Smokies Hiker:
Yes. When you reset the modem/router, everything is set back to the factory default password.
David:
Default means default, so if you reset the modem to default the SSID and password will revert to the default
G. Whilikers:
A simple reboot with the paper clip button will keep the settings. You'll need to go all the way to a factory restore to reset the password.
Harry:
Most of the time yes, the SSID and password will revert back to the stock and you will need to connect via an Ethernet cable to reconfigure it.
Chau:
I think you press the wrong button. You pressed the reset factory button instead of restart button.
chrisjbsc:
They MIGHT do, depending on what password and SSID you have set.

LEAVE A COMMENT